- Art Abstracts (EBSCO)
This database provides comprehensive indexing and abstracts for more than 450 international art publications, including periodicals, yearbooks, and museum bulletins. Art Abstracts' international coverage encompasses periodicals published in English, French, German, Italian, Spanish and Dutch, focused on a broad range of art topics, including advertising, archaeology, crafts, folk art, graphic arts, interior design, video, film, architecture and art history. Indexing spans from 1984 to the present.
- Art Babble
This site has many videos discussing art. Covers many different topics and includes artists discussing their work.
- Art Full Text (EBSCO)
Featuring full-text articles, indexing and abstracting of an international array of publications, Art Full TextJ is a comprehensive resource covering fine, decorative and commercial art, as well as photography, folk art, film, architecture and much more. More than simply a resource for art students and art historians, Art Full Text rounds out the research experience for those studying other fields, such as women=s, media or cultural studies; history; anthropology; industrial design; and other related areas of study. Researchers are able to track the careers of artists and review their materials and methods, and can find books by and about artists, as well as interviews, profiles and much more. Indexing of art reproductions provides examples of styles and art movements, including works by emerging artists.
- Art History
Allows you to explore different time periods in art. Pick a period and see representative pictures and explanations. You can search by time period, style, and artist. Includes art works as well as videos.
- Art History Links
Compiled by Christopher L.C.E. Witcombe, Professor, Dept. of Art History, Sweet Briar College, Virginia.
- Art Images for College Teaching
Art Images for College Teaching (AICT) is a personal, non-profit project of its author, art historian and visual resources curator Allan T. Lohl. AICT is intended primarily to disseminate images of art and architectural works in the public domain on a free-access.
- Art Online
Oxford Art Online contains the acclaimed Grove Art Online which has been relaunched with new content, functionality, and partnership links. (Oxford)
Browse a collection o 225,436 photos of plants, animals, fossils, people and landscapes from around the world.
- CBCA Complete: The Arts (ProQuest)
This database focuses on arts periodicals covering Canada and Canadian issues.
- Figure Drawing Lab
This site is devoted to better understanding of the elements that make up the human figure and how to better portray them. It is intended as a resource for artists and art students who work with the human form.
- Fine Arts & Music Collection (Gale)
This collection will provide support for research in areas such as drama, music, art history, and filmmaking.
- Free Large Photos
These photos cover many different subjects and include pictures of well-known sites around the world as well as works from major artists. They are free to reproduce.
- LIFE Photo Archives
Millions of photographs from the LIFE photo archive, stretching from the 1750s to today. Most were never published and are now available for the first time through the joint work of LIFE and Google.
- Louvre Museum Official Website
Search for pictures from the Louvre and display them or print them.
- NASA Image Collection
Includes photographs about earth, the solar system, the universe, astronauts and aeronautics. Can search by time line as well.
- National Gallery of Art
This site from the National Galley of Art allows you to search for artists and art styles. Also contains biographical information and extensive number of images for each artist.
- Research Library: The Arts (ProQuest)
This resource covers publications on the arts for researchers of all levels.
- Smithsonian Institute Collection
Search or browse by artist. Includes works in their collection and biographies.
- State Photo Archive
This is a collection of images from each state collected by USA.gov
- World Images Database
It contains approximately 80,000 images, is global in coverage and includes all areas of visual imagery. WorldImages is accessible anywhere and its images may be freely used for non-profit educational purposes. The images can be located using many search techniques, and for convenience they are organized into over 800 portfolios which are then organized into subject groupings.