Articles from Databases: In general, when you cite an article from a database, the format is the same as for a print article. At the end of the citation include the DOI number to indicate an online article. If there is no DOI number assigned to the article, give the URL of the journal, magazine, or newspaper home page.
Double space all of the citations on your reference page.
Alphabetize your reference list by the first word of the citation (usually the author's last name).
Indent the second & following lines of the citation 5-7 spaces.
For 2-6 authors: Wingert, P., Smith, J., & Brown, P.
For more than 6 authors: Provide only the first author followed by a comma and et al. For example: Wingert, P., et al.
Only capitalize the first word of the document title. If there is a colon in the title, capitalize the first word after the colon.
Italicize the title of the magazine or journal. Also italicize the volume number - but do not italicize the issue number.
Page Numbers: Use p. for articles one page long and pp. for articles that are more than one page. If no page numbers are available, just leave blank.
Do not include a period after the DOI number or URL.
Dates: Use n.d. (no date) when a publication date is not available.
No retrieval date is needed.
Format-Print
Last Name, First Initial. (Year). Title of article. Title of Journal, Vol.(Issue), Page(s).
Example-Print
Hallin, D.C. (2008). Sound bite news. Journal of Communication, 42(2), 5-24.
Format-from Database (Article includes a DOI number)
Last Name, First Initial(s). (Year). Title of article. Title of Journal. Vol.(Issue), Page(s).
doi: number
Example-from Database (Article includes DOI number)
Hoar, W.P. (2004). Benign discrimination? New American, 19(9), 42-44.
doi:10.1080/1462220041000
Format-from Database (Article does not include DOI number))
Last Name, First Intitial(s). (Year). Title of article. Title of Journal, Vol.(Issue), Page(s).
Retrieved from URL of journal home page.
Example-from Database(Article does not include DOI number)
Hoar, W.P. (2004). Benign discrimination? New American, 19(2), 5-24. Retrieved from
www.thenewamerican.com
Format-Print
Last Name, First Initial(s). (Year, Month Day). Title of article. Title of Magazine, Page(s).
Example-Print
Lavelle, M. (2008, June 11). Behind the teen birth decline. U.S. News & World Report,
63-65.
Format-from Database (Article includes a DOI number)
Last Name, First Initial(s). (Year, Month Day). Title of article. Title of Magazine, Pages.
doi:number
Example-from Database (Article includes DOI number)
Wingert, P. (2005, October 14). Education: Legislating legacies. Newsweek, 10-12.
doi:10.1057
Format-from Database (Article does not include DOI number)
Last Name, First Initial(s). (Year, Month Day). Title of article. Title of Magazine, pages.
Retrieved from URL of magazine home page
Example - From Database (Article does not include DOI number)
Wingert, P. (2005, October 14). Education: Legislating legacies. Newsweek, 10-12.
Retrieved from http://www.newsweek.com
Format-Print
Last Name, First Initial(s). (Year, Month Day). Title of article. Title of Newspaper, Page(s).
Example-Print
Hall, T. (2008, February 24). IQ scores are up. New York Times, pp. F1, F5.
Format-from Database
Last Name, First Initital(s). (Year, Month Day). Title of article. Title of Newspaper,
Page(s). Retrieved from URL of newspaper home page
Example-from Database
Henriques, D.B. (2003, June 29). Still testing Wall St.'s ceiling. New York Times,
p. B2. Retrieved from www.nytimes.com
General Information
Journal Article
Magazine Article
Newspaper Article