- Art Images for College Teaching
Art Images for College Teaching (AICT) is a personal, non-profit project of its author, art historian and visual resources curator Allan T. Lohl. AICT is intended primarily to disseminate images of art and architectural works in the public domain on a free-access.
- Art Online
Oxford Art Online contains the acclaimed Grove Art Online which has been relaunched with new content, functionality, and partnership links. (Oxford)
Browse a collection o 225,436 photos of plants, animals, fossils, people and landscapes from around the world.
- Chicano Art - California Ethnic & Multicultural Archives
See thousands of digital cultural and visual art images from the Chicano/Latino community.
- Early Photography in Greece and the Mediterrean
19th- and early 20th century photographs of ancient Greek and Roman art and architecture from the Getty Research Institute's collections.
- Free Large Photos
These photos cover many different subjects and include pictures of well-known sites around the world as well as works from major artists. They are free to reproduce.
- Images for the History of Medicine
Images from the History of Medicine (IHM) provides access to nearly 70,000 images in the collections of the History of Medicine Division (HMD) of the U.S National Library of Medicine (NLM).
- LIFE Photo Archives
Millions of photographs from the LIFE photo archive, stretching from the 1750s to today. Most were never published and are now available for the first time through the joint work of LIFE and Google.
- Louvre Museum Official Website
Search for pictures from the Louvre and display them or print them.
- NASA Image Collection
Includes photographs about earth, the solar system, the universe, astronauts and aeronautics. Can search by time line as well.
- National Gallery of Art
This site from the National Galley of Art allows you to search for artists and art styles. Also contains biographical information and extensive number of images for each artist.
- Perseus Project
Primary and secondard sources from: Greek and Roman materials, Arabic materials, Germanic materials, 19th century American materials, Renaissance materials and the issues of the Richmond Times Dispatch.
- PHIL: Public Health Images
Much of the information critical to the communication of public health messages is pictorial rather than text-based. PHIL offers an organized, universal electronic gateway to CDC's pictures. The content is organized into hierarchical categories of people, places, and science, and is presented as single images, image sets, and multimedia files.
- State Photo Archive
This is a collection of images from each state collected by USA.gov
- War Poster Collection - Digital Collections at University of Washington
A selection of World War I and II posters include propaganda of purchasing war bonds, the importance of national security, etc.
- World Images Database
It contains approximately 80,000 images, is global in coverage and includes all areas of visual imagery. WorldImages is accessible anywhere and its images may be freely used for non-profit educational purposes. The images can be located using many search techniques, and for convenience they are organized into over 800 portfolios which are then organized into subject groupings.