- African American History Digital Library
A collection of primary resources from Black College libraries and archives. It includes several thousand scanned pages and represents HBCU libraries first collaborative effort to make a historic collection digitally available.
- African Americans & the U.S. Coast Guard
An account written by retired Chief Journalist Alex Haley.
- African-American History & the Civil War
Maintained by the National Parks Service, this site contains information about African-Americans in the Civil War as well as a worthwhile summary of their service through American History
- African-American Involvement in the Vietnam War
Welcome to the virtual library of materials published about African-American involvement in the Vietnam War. 'Involvement' is defined as those who served and those who protested.
- Alabama Mosaic
Unique historical treasures from Alabama's archives, libraries, museums, universities and other repositories.
- America in Protest: records of Anti-vietnam War Organization--Vietnam Veterans Against the War
The Vietnam Veterans Against the War (VVAW) started in 1967 with six Vietnam veterans marching for peace in New York City. The purpose of the organization was to give voice to the returning servicemen who opposed the on-going war in Southeast Asia. From six soldiers in 1967, the ranks of the membership eventually grew to over 30,000. This publication consists of FBI reports dealing with every aspect of antiwar work carried out by the VVAW. The collection also includes surveillance on a variety of other antiwar groups and individuals, with an emphasis on student groups and Communist organizations.
- American Civil War Collections
Primary documents include letters, diaries and legal texts.
- American Civil War in Missouri
The Civil War in Missouri collection includes letters and diaries offering valuable insight into how Missourians—both civilians and those in the military—experienced the Civil War.
- American Folklife Center
An online oral history collections from around the United States.
- American Journeys
Eyewitness accounts of North American exploration including the journals and diaries of explorers, Indians, missionaries, traders and settlers as they lived through the founding moments of American history.
- American Memory
American Memory provides access to written and spoken words, sound recordings, still and moving images, prints, maps, and sheet music that document the American experience.
- American Museum of Natural History Research Library
This collection includes full-text PDFs of current and back issues of publications by scientists and their colleagues from the American Museum of Natural History (AMNH) in the areas of zoological systematic, paleontology, geology, evolution, and anthropology.
- American Notes
Published narratives by Americans and foreign visitors recounting their travels in the colonies and the United States and their observations and opinions about American peoples, places, and society from about 1750 to 1920.
- American Presidency
The online manifestation of 'The American Presidency: A Glorious Burden,' an exhibit from the Smithsonian's National Museum of American History of objects that represent the lives and times of the country's 42 presidents.
- American Presidency Project
The American Presidency Project is an archive of documents related to the study of the Presidency established in 1999 by scholars at the University of California, Santa Barbara.
- American Slave Narratives: An Online Anthology
From 1936 to 1938, over 2,300 former slaves from across the American South were interviewed by writers and journalists under the aegis of the Works Progress Administration. These former slaves provided first-hand accounts of their experiences on plantations, in cities, and on small farms.
- Archives Unbound
- Atlantic Slave Trade and Slave Life in America: A Visual Record
These 1,000 images depict Atlantic slavery. Images are divided into 18 categories.