A - Z List of Primary Documents: N

At the National Archives location in Kansas City you can see original historical documents, photographs, maps, drawings, artifacts, and much more, from nearly 100 Federal agencies. By law, we preserve and provide access to permanently valuable, non-current Federal records with historical, legal, or fiscal value.

NYPL Digital Gallery provides free and open access to over 700,000 images digitized from the The New York Public Library's vast collections, including illuminated manuscripts, historical maps, vintage posters, rare prints, photographs and more.

This collection includes all the existing autobiographical narratives of fugitive and former slaves published as broadsides, pamphlets, or books in English up to 1920. Also included are many of the biographies of fugitive and former slaves and some significant fictionalized slave narratives published in English before 1920.

Images in the North Carolina Collection depicting the war are from woodcuts, engravings, lithographs, and photographs. The overwhelming majority of these were made by persons accompanying Union forces or were made from sketches and other information they provided.

The project was finished in 2009 and the entire collection is now available online - a total of 23,483 digital images that are keyword searchable and include papers dating from 1751-1890s from cities like Edenton (1787-1801), Fayetteville (1798-1795), Hillsboro (1786), New Bern (1751-1804), Salisbury (1799-1898), and Wilmington (1765-1816).

Nearly 1 million pages of documents relating to the trial of military and political leaders of Nazi Germany before the International Military Tribunal and to the twelve trials of other accused war criminals before the United State Nuremberg Military Tribunals (NMT).