Find newspapers, magazines, journals, and many other digitized resources in these repositories. Most of these resources are available for free from a Kansas location or with a library card. Check the descriptions for access tips.
The Call (1919-2008): The Kansas City Call is a Black weekly newspaper founded in 1919 to provide leadership for the Black community. It quickly became one of the most successful Black newspapers in the U.S. covering civil rights issues and fighting segregation, discrimination, and other important issues of the African American community. The paper has a strong history of encouraging African Americans to register and vote and of covering many key Black issues including school segregation and urban development. A Kansasa City (MO) Public Library card is required for access. You can get one instantly using the Library Card Portal!
Kansas Digital Newspaper Program: The Kansas Digital Newspapers (KDN) program seeks to digitize and make available on the Internet digital editions of historic Kansas newspapers. The Kansas Historical Society (KSHS) manages KDN with support from both public and private partners and draws on its comprehensive state newspaper collection, including more than 50,000 rolls of newspaper microfilm created by KSHS. With nearly 12 million historic Kansas newspaper pages already available online, KDN provides Kansas students, teachers, genealogists, historians and other researchers free online access to these valuable primary sources and an unprecedented opportunity to rediscover Kansas history through the local press.
Chronicling America: Search newspaper pages digitized through the National Digital Newspaper Project or find information about American newspapers published between 1690-present. Besides being the best collection of American newspapers in the world, Chronicling America is the focus of a Special Prize for National History Day!
Kansas Periodical Index: Currently, the Kansas Periodical Index online includes coverage for the years 2002 through 2018. Some years prior to 2002 are also indexed for Kansas History. Plans are to eventually add retrospective coverage (pre-2002) for selected titles of historical interest, such as Kansas History, Kansas Historical Quarterly, and Kansas! While full text is not available through this resources, KPI serves as a guide to figuring out where the stories you need might be hiding. An open subscription to the Kansas Periodical Index is provided by the State Library of Kansas.
Kansas Online Historical Papers: Have you ever wished you could find links to all the online historical newspapers in one place? A place where they were listed by county and city so you could find the newspapers your ancestors read? This is the purpose of the Online Historical Newspapers Website.
KCKPL Genealogy Databases: While these databases are gathered for people working on their family histories, many of the newspapers hiding behind paywalls are available through these resources. A Kansas City Kansas Public Library card is required to access these resources outside one of the buildings. You can get one instantly through the KCKPL eCommunity!
NewspaperCat: The Catalog of Digital Historical Newspapers (NewspaperCat) is a tool that facilitates the discovery of online digitized historical newspaper content from newspapers published in the United States and the Caribbean. NewspaperCat was funded by a grant from the George A. Smathers Libraries.