LibGuides: Nursing & Allied Health Databases: Patient Education Databases

Recommended Databases

These databases contain information that is appropriate for the patients and other non-medical personnel.

Alt HeathWatch This link opens in a new window
Alt Healthwatch is a full-text alternative health research database focused on complementary, holistic and integrated approaches to health care and wellness. It offers the latest information about the evolving practice of holistic medicine and therapies.
Consumer Health Complete This link opens in a new window
The most comprehensive database for consumer-oriented health content, Consumer Health Complete is designed to help users gain an overall understanding of key topics across the health and wellness spectrum — from mainstream medicine to complementary, holistic and integrated medicine.
Consumer Health Database This link opens in a new window
The Consumer Health Database covers public health topics including pandemics, disaster preparedness, and obesity and features the American Journal of Public Health and Epidemiology and Infection, among other leading publications.
Gale Health and Wellness This link opens in a new window
Search a full range of health-related issues, from current disease and disorder information to alternative medical practices.

HealthFinder
Your source for reliable health information from the Federal government. Offering quick quides to healthy living and personalized health advice based upon age and gender. Great source for patient education and to promote primary care.
Medline Plus Health Information
MedlinePlus will direct you to information to help answer health questions and also has extensive information about drugs, an illustrated medical encyclopedia, interactive patient tutorials and latest health news.
Prescriber's Digital Reference