BIOL 145 - Nutrition - S. Downing: Databases

A multidisciplinary research database specifically designed for college students. It provides millions of articles from over 17,000 scholarly journals, and 11,000 peer-reviewed journals, over 8000 of which are full text. Other authoritative sources include magazines, news sources, thousands of podcasts and transcripts from NPR and CNN as well as videos from BBC Worldwide Learning. Major reference sets including the Gale Encyclopedia of Science and Encyclopedia of World Biography are also available.

The CRIS (Current Research Information System) database is the U.S. Department of Agriculture's (USDA) documentation and reporting system for ongoing and recently completed research projects in agriculture, food and nutrition, and forestry.

Give recreational cooks and professional chefs alike instant access to recipes and other culinary information from trusted sources with the new Culinary Arts Collection.

The International Bibliographic Information on Dietary Supplements (IBIDS) database provides access to bibliographic citations and abstracts from published, international, and scientific literature on dietary supplements.

Nutrition.gov provides easy access to the best food and nutrition information from across the federal government.
A service of the National Agricultural Library, USDA.

The database includes over 370 titles, with more than 325 available in full text. ProQuest Biology Journals includes some of the most popular information resources for users in academic, government, and public research environments.

ProQuest Central is the largest multidisciplinary database with over 12,665 titles, with over 9,745 titles in full-text. It serves as the central resource for researchers at all levels in all markets.

Find complete, full-text information from covering numerous aspects of family health from sports injuries to women's health, from food and nutrition to midwifery, from eye care to dentistry.

Search full text and images for the leading periodicals in science and technology. Subject coverage includes computers, engineering, physics, telecommunications, and transportation.

Researching science topics has never been easier thousands of topic overviews, experiments, biographies, pictures and illustrations are just a few clicks away and the latest scientific developments.

The Mission of the Nutrient Data Laboratory is 'To develop authoritative food composition databases and state of the art methods to acquire, evaluate, compile and disseminate composition data on foods and dietary supplements available in the United States.'