State of Kansas
This list provides links to the major Kansas state government agency websites dealing with the environment.
Kansas Department of Agriculture
Kansas Department of Health and Environment
Kansas Department of Wildlife and Parks
Kansas Office of the State Climatologist at Kansas State University
Kansas Water Office is the water planning, policy, coordination, and marketing agency for the state, including development and implementation of a state plan for water resources management and conservation. Collects and compiles information pertaining to climate, water and soil and establishes guidelines as to when conditions indicative of drought exists.
U.S. Government Agency Websites
This list provides links to the major federal government agency websites dealing with the environment.
Bureau of Land Management (BLM)
Department of Agriculture (USDA)
Department of Energy (DOE) 
Office of Energy Efficiency and Renewable Energy (EERE) 
Keep up to date with the DOE’s Office of Energy Efficiency & Renewable Energy issues spanning from sustainable transportation to renewable electricity generation.
Department of Health and Human Services (HHS) 
Department of the Interior (DOI) 
Environmental Protection Agency (EPA) 
Fish and Wildlife Service 
National Aeronautics and Space Administration (NASA) 
National Forest Service (NFS)
National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration (NOAA) (Dept. of Commerce) 
National Park Service (NPS) 
National Science Foundation (NSF) 
United States Geological Survey (USGS) 
Summaries of major environmental legislation
Summary of the Clean Air Act (Environmental Protection Agency) Provides an “easy read" of the Act, covering the comprehensive federal law regulating air emissions from stationary and mobile sources. The Act seeks to protect human health and the environment from emissions that pollute ambient, or outdoor, air and addresses the prevention of pollution and protection of the ozone layer.
Summary of the Clean Water Act (Environmental Protection Agency) provides an “easy read" of the Act, which aims to prevent, reduce, and eliminate pollution in the nation's water. Establishes the basic structure for regulating discharges of pollutants into the waters of the United States and regulating quality standards for surface waters.
Summary of the Endangered Species Act (Environmental Protection Agency) The Endangered Species Act (ESA) provides a program for the conservation of threatened and endangered plants and animals and the habitats in which they are found.
Government Data
Is your one-stop source for air quality data from NOAA. Type in your zip code to obtain air quality data where you live. Also has a wildfire guide information page and a fire and smoke map in real time.
U.S. EPA Envirofacts Data Warehouse
A site run by the EPA allowing access to data and information on issues such as climate change, pesticides, and brownfields.
U.S. Energy Information Administration (EIA)
Part of the Department of Energy, provides access to independent statistics and analysis on issues such as fossil fuels, renewable fuels, electric power, and geography.
National Centers for Environmental Information (NCEI)
Manages the Regional Climate Centers (RCC) Program, which provides climate services to six regions encompassing the United States. RCCs provide traditional NOAA data sources and non-NOAA climate data. Kansas is included in the Central Region, and our center is the High Plains Regional Climate Center which provides the public with access to the most up to date climate data and information available. Information Includes near real-time and historical climate data, national and regional climate data maps, agricultural climate products, and regional climate summaries.
We are fortunate to have Doug Kluck as the Climate Services Director for the Central Region. Doug works across 14 states, including Kansas and Missouri, is a great resource, and resides in the Kansas City area.
National Drought Mitigation Center
Toxinet: Toxicology Data Network
A site run by the United States National Library of Medicine which allows access to databases on toxicology, hazardous chemicals, environmental health, and toxic releases.
Water Resources of the United States
A site run by the U.S. Geological Survey (USGS) containing data, publications, and other useful resources discussing the water of the United States.
