Civil War - HIST 106 - Black History - V. Winn - LibGuides at Kansas City Kansas Community College

Introduction

In general, resources about the Civil War are abundant, both in print and on the internet. As an indirect result, materials on African-Americans who participated in the war are also more plentiful than for any other conflict of the 19th century. Freedmen fought in segregated units for the Union Army. Although reports of African-Americans sering the Confederate cause are rare, they do exist.

Civil War Databases

Alabama Mosaic
Unique historical treasures from Alabama's archives, libraries, museums, universities and other repositories.
African American History Digital Library
A collection of primary resources from Black College libraries and archives. It includes several thousand scanned pages and represents HBCU libraries first collaborative effort to make a historic collection digitally available.
Documenting the American South
Southern history, literature and culture from the colonial period through the first decade of the 1900's.
Dred Scott Case Collection
The records document Dred and Harriet Scotts' early struggle to gain their freedom through litigation and are the only extant records of this significant case as it was heard in the St. Louis Circuit Court.
Florida & the Civil War
Florida and the Civil War provides online access to primary sources about the American Civil War from the collections of the 1. Department of Special & Area Studies Collections, George A. Smathers Library, University of Florida.
Gilmer Civil War Maps Collection
The Gilmer maps are an extensive group of Civil War maps, including both manuscript maps and printed maps with manuscript annotations and engineers' drawings of military construction,
North Carolina Civil War Image Portfolio
Images in the North Carolina Collection depicting the war are from woodcuts, engravings, lithographs, and photographs. The overwhelming majority of these were made by persons accompanying Union forces or were made from sketches and other information they provided.
Roy Bird Cook Collection. 31st Virginia Regiment (CSA).
This collection of more than 3000 documents relates to the 31st Virginia Regiment of the Confederate Army. The regiment was primarily composed of western Virginia volunteers and served in many major conflicts during the course of the Civil War.
Territorial Kansas Online
Explore the turbulent times of 'Bleeding Kansas.' Hundreds of personal letters, diaries, photos, and maps bring to life the settling of Kansas during the fierce debate over slavery.
The Civil War Collection at Penn State
Over 20 digital collections regarding the Civil War in Pennsylvania.
The Southern Homefront 1861-1865
The Southern Homefront, 1861-1865,' presents documents related to all aspects of Southern life during the Civil War. This collection includes over four hundred Civil War era maps, broadsides, photographs, printed works, Confederate currency, and manuscript letters and diaries.
The Valley of the Shadow: two communities in the American Civil War
The Valley Project details life in two American communities, one Northern and one Southern, from the time of John Brown's Raid through he era of Reconstruction
University of Delaware Library Digital Collection
Multiple collections but 5 dedicated to the Civil War era.